Home > Discover Dogs, Dog Photography > Dog Photography from Discover Dogs

Dog Photography from Discover Dogs

Met lots of lovely owners (and of course their dogs) over the weekend at Discover Dogs at Earls Court.

It was the first time I had attended a show like this, but I wanted to get more of an insight into the dog world other than just photographing the dogs that I see on my dog walks. I knew by coming up here I would be able to see many breeds altogether in one place and several breeds that I just don’t come across on a daily basis.

I’m going to put some of these dogs up here this week, in no particular order or preference. I don’t have individual stories to tell about each dog as it was a case of photograph the dog very quickly, chat to the owner, ask the name and breed of the dog and then move on.

Also, this is quite different to the normal way I work, which is mostly outside. I photographed all of the dogs here in the available light, without any flash, with fast lenses. That’s the way I work most of the time. I’m not a great lover of on-camera flash and there’s something about shooting available light to keep the ambiance of the situation. Also shooting wide open with fast lenses does throw the background out of focus which is favourable in these conditions, when you have chair legs, cages and lots of people in the background.

Do feel free to comment on any of the pictures if you spot your dog and please pass this website address on to anyone else who would be interested.

I’ll put a few from Saturday and a few from Sunday on each day. There are more from Saturday as I had more time and Sunday was just heaving and much harder to get clear shots in between all the dog-patters!

From Saturday –

dog photographer Kent
Edie La Pops, Italian Greyhound


Kiki, Boston Terrier


Buddy, Labrador/Standard Poodle


YKC Crufts Groomer of the Year Qualifier – Hazel, Border Terrier


YKC Crufts Groomer of the Year Qualifier – Hazel, Border Terrier


Norman, Chinese Crested Hairless


Cooper & Herbie, Maltese/Bichon Frise Cross


Vinnie, Dogue De Bordeaux


Bruin, German Spitz Klein


Ruby, Chihuahua/Jack Russell Terrier Cross


Levi, Coton De Tulear


YKC Crufts Groomer of the Year Qualifier – Monty, Papillon


Nancy, Chihuahua


Clodagh (front) and Ciara (behind), Irish Red Setters


Billy, Hugarian Puli (love the drip coming off his tongue)

And from Sunday –


Chester (left) & Arwin, Pomeranian


Lucky, Chihuahua


Yoda, French Bulldog


Yoda, French Bulldog


Martin (left) & Rupert (right), Bulldogs


Fudge, Cocker Spaniel


Tali, Welsh Springer Spaniel


Bobby (left) & Monty, Schnauzers


Pippa & Buddy from Britain’s Got Talent


Zeus, Great Dane


Sid, Leonberger


Binky, French Bulldog

Just to let you know that all the pictures will go on my Facebook page The Dog Snapper and I’ll also be uploading them to the online shop if you’d like to buy a print, mug, t-shirt, etc etc etc

More dogs tomorrow!

  1. November 15, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Beautiful pictures, albeit Yoda looking like a grump! Thank you for taking these and sharing them. We will stop by the shop xxx

    • November 15, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      Thanks Caroline, glad you like the pictures. Next time we meet, I’ll make sure I get some really good stuff on Yoda!

  2. November 17, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Pictures 4&5 are of me and my border terrier, Hazel! Thanks these photos are great! 😀

  3. Brian & Lesley
    November 17, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Nice to see my two schnauzers sitting so stil, thanks for putting them up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

