Home > Dog Photography, FoGH, Grosvenor and Hilbert Park > Dog Photography in Grosvenor and Hilbert Park

Dog Photography in Grosvenor and Hilbert Park

Change of scenery this morning. I took Barney over to Grosvenor Park after being contacted by a local Tunbridge Wells group called Friends of Grosvenor and Hilbert Park (FoGH).

FoGH launched in 2011 to support the Tunbridge Wells council bid for Heritage Lottery Funding. This process is still on-going and they are keen to promote use of the Park and have many events lined up for the future including an Open Meeting this Saturday (28th Jan) morning at St Barnabas School Hall.

Somebody from FoGH had seen my blog and asked whether I’d be interested in taking some pictures of the dogs that use the Park, so over I went.

I didn’t realise there was so much to it. I was born and brought up in Tunbridge Wells and have used the Park’s facilities, but only really to take the kids to the play area and the pond. There’s so much more to see further round and it’s a great dog walking space. I’ve got quite used to walking in the Southborough woods which are fairly enclosed and as a change, I really enjoyed being out in the open. Photographically, this made things simpler as I could spot dog walkers in the distance and shimmy on over.

Apparently there’s a group that meet up (could this be the Lazy Dog Walkers of Grosvenor Park?) on one of the football pitches each morning as a sort of social thing. I think I may have missed them by going a bit later but I will try to catch them in the next day or so.

Met some friendly owners and lovely dogs and I’ve grouped a few together here. Must mention Louise, the lady in red with the Westies (with the red coats). They all looked so colour coordinated. Louise sent me a lovely email after viewing my blog with suggestions about how to describe her dogs and much praise for what I was doing. There really are some nice people out there.

Suzy & April, West Highland Terriers
Suzy (left) & April, West Highland Terriers
(my favourite picture of the morning)

Suzy & April, West Highland Terriers
Suzy & April (right), West Highland Terriers

Suzy is a “cheeky little scamp and likes chasing squirrels, who always manage to run faster than her (thank goodness)”, she also has plenty to say for herself, unlike older and wiser April, who “is much more reserved and would rather be back at home curled up in front of the fire that traipsing round the park in the cold and wet.”

Daisy-May, Tibetan Terrier Cross
Daisy-May, Tibetan Terrier Cross (who is like “a hormone in a fur coat, if she doesn’t like a dog”)

Robbie, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel
Robbie, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

8 year old Robbie, is diabetic, needs insulin injections daily, has impaired hearing and only 25% vision.

Ness, Shih Tzu/Cairn Terrier Cross
Ness, Shih Tzu/Cairn Terrier Cross

Ness, Shih Tzu/Cairn Terrier Cross
Ness, Shih Tzu/Cairn Terrier Cross

Nina, Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Nina, Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Nina, Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Nina, Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Nina, now 4 years old, was rescued from her cruel owners at the age of one. She had been so badly kicked and punched that she had to have her front right leg removed. Luckily she was rescued by South Coulsdon RSPCA and rehomed by her loving new owner who told me Nina is “her best mate.”

Sky, Border Collie
Sky, Border Collie

Lily, Springer Spaniel
Lily, Springer Spaniel

Alfie, Shih Tzu
Alfie, Shih Tzu (has just had a haircut!)

Mia, German Shepherd
Mia, German Shepherd (“loves sticks”)

Mia, German Shepherd
Mia, German Shepherd

Poppy, Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier
Poppy, Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier (has “a zest for life” but is prone to disappear)

Poppy, Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier
Poppy, Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier (big yawn)

Grosvenor Park

Poppy, Shih Tzu
Poppy, Shih Tzu

Rosie, Labrador
Rosie, Labrador

  1. sarah
    January 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Such lovely photos of our dogs, but the westies get my vote!

  2. Jo
    January 26, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Fantastic photos! I came here from FoGH but I think I’ll be back!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment